Gfx World
Welcome to Gfx World.
Gfx World
Welcome to Gfx World.
Gfx World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Graphic Design forum

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

[GIMP] Super Noob Tut (for complete beginners)

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
nuckleheadninja
Gfx moderator
nuckleheadninja

[GIMP] Super Noob Tut (for complete beginners) Empty
PostSubject: [GIMP] Super Noob Tut (for complete beginners)   [GIMP] Super Noob Tut (for complete beginners) EmptyWed May 19, 2010 10:07 pm

Well i dont have a template, just boring text and layer by layer imaging, sorry. But this'll teach you a few filters, and it can have a nice outcome if done well. MAY be compatable with p.s, i havent tried it though.

Outcome: [GIMP] Super Noob Tut (for complete beginners) 15ev3nk

Its my first tut, so probably not going to be perfect whatsoever. Im too lazy to do the whole bg and awesome txt stuff, so i will be posting layer by layer with captions via s-b! NOTE: this IS very NOOB level not suggested for beginners. Also, yes it tends to come out plain, but its not supposed to be fancy, just something simple and if done right can be pretty nice:amused

-1: Paste in a nice sized (generally a city, or inanimate) stock, and crop it to the size you want your sig. duplicate it twice via the layers box (Ctrl+L) and hid one under the original, and put the other one to overlay. I will use this:

[GIMP] Super Noob Tut (for complete beginners) S1nnud
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-2: Select the overlay layer from your layers box, make your FG red, and BG yellow. Then go to colors>map>gradient map. It should look somewhat like this:

[GIMP] Super Noob Tut (for complete beginners) 2ue6x4p
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------